Brand Tested Get your score

maxbone

Modern dog gear plus freeze-dried raw food on subscription.

maxbone’s Storefront Evidence Score70out of 100C+

#92 of 180 scored · #9 of 14 in Pets

Is this your brand? Claim it free
maxbone.com
Screenshot of the maxbone homepage
Source: maxbone.com, Oct 10 ’26

The short answermaxbone has a Storefront Evidence Score of 70 (C+), #92 of the 180 DTC brands we have fully scored, as of Oct 9, 2026. Its strongest area is Site Experience (82) and its biggest gap is Value Prop & Positioning (59), and its storefront runs Recharge, Okendo, Social Snowball and Smile.io.

What they’re crushing

The offer

"40% off first order", "Free shipping" and "10% off recurring orders" on the PDP; "Extra 10% Off" on the homepage.

Biggest unlock

60% of the top-scoring brands run an attribution tool.

Our scan didn’t find one on maxbone’s storefront. Attribution tells you which dollar worked, so you can spend the next one better.

See all 4 unlocks
The one next move

Decide what the homepage sells first

Give the food subscription its own lane with the 40% first-order offer up top.

All 3 fixes
Customer sentiment4.8 out of 5 from 556 reviews
The stack

Stack Score 76

4 of 7 core app categories detected in public storefront code, by tier.

The Defaults

2

Table stakes. Nearly every brand we scan runs these.

ShopifyKlaviyo

Core Stack

1

The growth engine: subscriptions, popups, identity, upsells and testing.

Supporting Cast

5

Reviews, referrals, attribution, support and everything else.

OkendoSocial SnowballSSmile.ioAttentiveIimpact.com

Detected, not endorsed. Each app links to its profile in The Stack.

Go deeper

The full read

Brand analysisPositioning, point of view, audience, white space and validation
Point of view

Clear 69

How strongly maxbone stands for something only it can say.

  • Design plus vet-developed food is unusual; it is not stated as a reason to switch.
  • Marc Jacobs collab, freeze-dried raw food and design gear.
Third-party validation

Clear 74

  • Review volume and rating shown. PDP: "Rated 4.7 out of 5", "Based on 112 reviews"; homepage section "Don't Just Take Our Word For It."
  • Authority or third-party proof. "Vet-Developed" on the PDP, formulated by "veterinary nutritionists".
  • Star rating on the product page. 4.7 stars from 112 reviews in the product data.
  • Certifications or clinical backing shown. No certification or clinical claim found on the homepage or PDP.
  • Creator, affiliate or UGC presence. Creator or affiliate program detected: Smile.io, Social Snowball, impact.com.
Audience

Primary. Style-conscious owners who want the same taste in food as in carriers.

What the site signals. Stylish dog owners, implied; the "How many bags do I need?" guide speaks to food buyers.

White space

maxbone owns: Fashion credibility, with a Marc Jacobs collab next to the kibble.

  • Native Pet owns: Vet authority: a board-certified veterinary nutritionist.
  • Open Farm owns: Traceability: "100% traceable" food.
  • BARK owns: Surprise and theme: licensed boxes your dog actually tears into.

Peers are other graded brands in the same category. Our read, from their own sites.

The strategist’s read

Where maxbone plays, and the next move

Where they play

Modern dog gear plus vet-developed freeze-dried food in one storefront.

Who it is for

Style-conscious owners who want the same taste in food as in carriers.

What they own

Fashion credibility, with a Marc Jacobs collab next to the kibble.

Strongest angle

The offer

"40% off first order", "Free shipping" and "10% off recurring orders" on the PDP; "Extra 10% Off" on the homepage.

Biggest untapped angle

Risk reversal

No return or satisfaction promise found. A plain guarantee answers "what if it is not for me?" before it is asked.

The one move we would make next

Decide what the homepage sells first

Give the food subscription its own lane with the 40% first-order offer up top. Food is the repeat purchase; gear is the gift. Lead with the one that builds the business.

Our read, built from the quoted evidence on this page. Opinion, not fact.

Customer sentiment4.8 out of 5 from 556 reviews, hero products, love and gripes
4.8556 reviews across the products below

Hero products

  1. Freeze-dried Raw Turkey Recipe4.7 · 112 reviews
  2. Christian Cowan x maxbone Jumper4.8 · 270 reviews
  3. Talon Raincoat4.9 · 174 reviews

Ranked by the store’s own best-selling sort, reviewed products only.

What people love

  • Comfort and fit52 reviewsHer hair feels soft.
  • Quality46 reviewsI’m using the glow up recipe with a high quality kibble.
  • Ease of use15 reviewsWe tried Maxbone as it is a convenient way to feed raw.

What they don’t

  • Shipping and delivery2 reviewsDelivered too many and charged my card.

Source: ratings and reviews shown on maxbone.com product pages (Okendo), read Oct 10, 2026. Rating and count as displayed. Themes come from the 225 review texts the pages let a visitor read, written Apr 26, 2021 to Oct 7, 2026; quotes are verbatim, trimmed to one sentence. The average rating is shown as the store displays it, for context. It isn’t part of the Storefront Evidence Score.

Score breakdown and evidenceEvery point, with the quote behind it

maxbone's food PDP is excellent: 4.7 stars from 112 reviews, "Vet-Developed" formulas and "40% off first order". The homepage splits between carriers and food and never says which job it wants first.

59Value Prop & Positioning20% of the scoreSee evidence
  • ~
    Hero headline says what it is or the core benefitH1 "Pet Essentials, modernized" is clear but broad.
    13/25
  • ~
    Subhead makes the benefit specificThe body explains "a one-stop-shop" for modern pet care; benefits stay general.
    11/20
  • ~
    Target customer and use occasion are clearStylish dog owners, implied; the "How many bags do I need?" guide speaks to food buyers.
    10/15
  • ~
    Category understood within five secondsCarriers, beds, apparel and food all appear; the category takes a beat to read.
    13/20
69Point of View11% of the scoreSee evidence
  • ~
    Differentiation versus alternatives is explicitDesign plus vet-developed food is unusual; it is not stated as a reason to switch.
    12/20
  • ~
    Distinct hooks and anglesMarc Jacobs collab, freeze-dried raw food and design gear.
    12/15
74Third-Party Validation14% of the scoreSee evidence
  • ~
    Review volume and rating shownPDP: "Rated 4.7 out of 5", "Based on 112 reviews"; homepage section "Don't Just Take Our Word For It."
    15/20
  • ~
    Authority or third-party proof"Vet-Developed" on the PDP, formulated by "veterinary nutritionists".
    12/15
  • ✓
    Star rating on the product page4.7 stars from 112 reviews in the product data.
    15/15
  • ✕
    Certifications or clinical backing shownNo certification or clinical claim found on the homepage or PDP.
    0/10
  • ✓
    Creator, affiliate or UGC presenceCreator or affiliate program detected: Smile.io, Social Snowball, impact.com.
    10/10
64Offer & Angles16% of the scoreSee evidence
  • ~
    Clear offer on homepage and PDP"40% off first order", "Free shipping" and "10% off recurring orders" on the PDP; "Extra 10% Off" on the homepage.
    17/20
  • ~
    Risk reversalNo return or satisfaction promise found.
    6/15
  • ~
    Reason to buy now"Selling Fast" tags; no deadline.
    9/15
70Messaging Consistency9% of the scoreSee evidence
  • ~
    Same core promise on homepage and PDPThe homepage leads with gear and collabs; the PDP is food. Different promises.
    28/40
  • ~
    Proof numbers match across pages112 reviews on the PDP; no homepage count. No conflicts.
    22/30
  • ~
    Offer matches across pages"Extra 10% Off" on the homepage versus "40% off first order" on the PDP.
    20/30

Homepage against product page, from the same scan.

82Site Experience19% of the scoreSee evidence
  • ✓
    SW-02 Mobile viewport set upViewport meta tag present.
    10/10
  • ✓
    SW-03 Images described with alt text249 of 255 homepage images have alt text.
    5/5
  • ~
    SW-04 Images below the fold load lazily1 of 255 homepage images lazy-load.
    2/5
  • ✓
    SW-10 Search that finds thingsSearch box in the header code.
    10/10
  • ✓
    SW-11 Cart top right with a live countCart link with a live item count.
    10/10
  • ✕
    SW-12 Free shipping threshold in plain sightNo free shipping threshold on the homepage.
    0/10
  • ✓
    SW-13 Two or more ways to get helpSupport via email, chat.
    5/5
  • ✓
    SW-14 Policies one click awayPolicy links in the footer.
    5/5
  • ~
    HP-01 One clear H1Three H1s, including "Don't Just Take Our Word For It."
    4/10
  • ✓
    HP-04 Offer bar under the header“Extra 10% Off” on the homepage.
    10/10
  • ✓
    HP-10 Bestsellers up front“Bestsellers” section on the homepage.
    10/10
  • ✓
    HP-11 Shop by category15 collection links on the homepage.
    5/5
  • ✓
    HP-12 A story block or founder note“Our Story” on the homepage.
    5/5
  • ✓
    HP-14 A real reason to buy now“Selling Fast”.
    5/5
  • ✓
    PDP-01 Product name under 65 characters“Freeze-dried Raw Turkey Recipe” (30 characters).
    5/5
  • ✓
    PDP-03 Reviews on the page"Based on 112 reviews" with stars on the PDP.
    15/15
  • ✕
    PDP-05 Thumbnails, video and variant images0 product images in the gallery code.
    0/5
  • ✓
    PDP-09 Quantity and variant pickers that update the priceQuantity input and variant picker.
    5/5
  • ✓
    PDP-10 Savings shown with a strikethroughCompare-at price shown on the PDP.
    5/5
  • ✓
    PDP-11 Subscribe and save in the buy boxSubscribe option in the buy box.
    10/10
  • ✕
    PDP-12 Bundles or upsells on the pageNo bundle or pairing block found on the PDP.
    0/10
  • ✓
    PDP-14 Pay later for higher price pointsPay later option (payment-terms) on the PDP.
    5/5
  • ✓
    PDP-15 Guarantee in the buy box“Guaranteed Analysis” on the PDP.
    10/10
  • ✓
    PDP-16 Shipping and returns spelled outShipping and returns terms on the PDP.
    10/10
  • ~
    PDP-17 Details, ingredients or FAQ in accordions"Frequently asked questions" and ingredient details on the PDP.
    9/10

Lab speed (Core Web Vitals) isn’t scored yet.

76Tech Stack11% of the scoreSee evidence

Coverage of the seven core app categories. Full breakdown in the Stack Score below.

Storefront Evidence Score, methodology v1.3: 7 of 7 areas scored.

How you stack up4 unlocks vs Pets peers and the top 20
4unlocks
waiting
03 · How you stack up

maxbone vs. the best

Out of 10 lanes, maxbone covers 4. The comparison: 47 Pets storefronts and the 20 top-scoring brands on The Board. Start with the first gap on the list.

Attribution

Unlock

maxbone doesn’t show an attribution tool in our scan. 60% of the top-scoring brands do. Attribution tells you which dollar worked, so you can spend the next one better.

What the top 10 run here:EElevar4 of 10NNorthbeam2 of 10Triple Whale1 of 10
Most common across our scan:Triple WhaleEElevarNNorthbeamPPolar Analytics
Pets brands40%
Top-graded60%
maxboneNo

Popups and list growth

Unlock

47% of Pets brands run a popup or list growth tool. Our scan didn’t find one on maxbone’s storefront. A capture popup turns a one-time visit into a name on the list.

What the top 10 run here:Alia4 of 10Klaviyo forms3 of 10Postscript popup3 of 10
Most common across our scan:Klaviyo formsAliaPostscript popupRRetention.com
Pets brands47%
Top-graded45%
maxboneNo

Upsells and cross-sells

Unlock

40% of the top-scoring brands run a cart upsell or cross-sell app. Our scan didn’t find one on maxbone’s storefront. Cart recommendations raise order value on traffic you already paid for.

What the top 10 run here:Rebuy5 of 10
Most common across our scan:RebuyZZipify OCU
Pets brands34%
Top-graded40%
maxboneNo

CRO and testing

Unlock

No CRO or testing tool spotted on maxbone’s store, while 30% of the top-scoring brands run one. Price, offer and page tests show what really moves conversion, so nobody has to guess.

What the top 10 run here:Intelligems5 of 10
Most common across our scan:Intelligems
Pets brands21%
Top-graded30%
maxboneNo

Email and SMS

maxbone: running it
Pets brands83%
Top-graded75%
maxboneYes

Reviews and UGC

maxbone: running it
Okendo
Pets brands60%
Top-graded65%
maxboneYes

Referrals, loyalty and affiliates

maxbone: running it
Social SnowballSSmile.ioIimpact.com
Pets brands23%
Top-graded50%
maxboneYes

Subscriptions

maxbone: running it
Pets brands45%
Top-graded35%
maxboneYes

PDP and landing pages

Not spotted

Only 15% of peers run one, so it doesn’t count as an unlock.

Pets brands6%
Top-graded15%
maxboneNo

Post-purchase experience

Not spotted

Only 10% of peers run one, so it doesn’t count as an unlock.

Pets brands9%
Top-graded10%
maxboneNo

Adoption is the share of storefronts where our Oct 9, 2026 scan found at least one app in the lane. Apps that live only in checkout or the back office can hide from a scan, so “not spotted” doesn’t mean missing. App names show what other brands run. They aren’t endorsements. A few links to software partners are referral links, and we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you. Money never changes a score.

The stack by funnel stageCoverage across acquisition, conversion and retention
Acquisition33/100Getting new people in the door1 of 3 core categories
Social SnowballSSmile.ioIimpact.com
Details
  • No popups / list growth app spotted. Top 20 pick: Alia
  • No attribution app spotted. What the top 20 run most: Triple Whale
Retention100/100Bringing them back for more2 of 2 core categoriesDetails

Every core category in this pillar is covered.

CRO / Experience50/100Turning visits into orders1 of 2 core categories
Okendo
Details
  • No post-purchase / upsells app spotted. Most common in the top 20: Rebuy

Spotted in public storefront code, scanned Oct 9, 2026. Checkout and back-office apps can hide from a scan, so treat a gap here as something to check.

Fix this week3 specific changes, free
01

Decide what the homepage sells first

NowGear, collabs and food share the hero.

TryGive the food subscription its own lane with the 40% first-order offer up top.

Why it matters

Food is the repeat purchase; gear is the gift. Lead with the one that builds the business.

02

Match the offer across pages

Now"Extra 10% Off" on the homepage, "40% off first order" on the PDP.

TryShow the 40% first-order food offer on the homepage too.

Why it matters

A shopper who sees 10% first may never click far enough to see 40%.

03

Add a satisfaction promise to the food

NowNo guarantee in source.

TryOffer a first-bag promise.

Why it matters

Switching dog food is a risk for the dog's stomach and the owner's wallet.

Storefront Evidence Scores are our editorial opinion, based on our published methodology and the public evidence on this page as of Oct 9, 2026. They are not statements of fact about a company’s legal compliance, finances or product safety. Grades are set against the DTC field we score: 82 or higher is in the A range (the scale). Methodology · Request a correction

For the maxbone team
Free

Claim your page

Verify you work at maxbone. Add a founder quote or story, respond to any finding and hear from us before the next update. Claiming never changes a score.

Free

Shipped a fix? Ask for a rescan.

Tell us what changed, or what we got wrong. We rescan the live store and note what moved on this page and in the changelog.

Share

Share your Brand Tested 70

A badge for your site, deck or socials. It links back to this page and shows the scan date.